top of page
  • Writer's pictureA B I

How to build confidence with your style




So you went shopping and found the most beautiful pair of shoes you've ever seen. You buy them and take them home and can not wait to wear them out. The day comes when you want to wear them to school. You put your outfit together and go to school. But when you get there you feel like everyone is looking and judging your shoes and you don't feel as happy as you did when you first put them on this morning. So you go home and shove those shoes in the back of your closet. Never wanting to wear them again.


This scenario is all to familiar for lots of people. Being to afraid to show off your personal style because of fear of negative judgement from others. I used to struggle with this too. I bought so many fun items that I found at thrift stores and my local mall but would be to afraid to wear them out. So they would be sitting in my closet collecting dust while I tried to dress like everyone else at school. But I got tired of it so I started to learn how to build my confidence with my style. These are a few tips I have on how to do it:



Baby steps


This is a method I used when I first starting to trying to build my confidence. Pick one item of clothing that you love but are afraid you will be judged for. Wear it to the bank or the grocery store. This will help you get comfortable with wearing this item in public. The more times you wear it out the more you're able to get comfortable with it.


Once you are comfortable add another item then another. Until you have the complete outfit you have always wanted. Then it won't be as hard to wear what you want in the future.



The meaning behind the outfit


You have to remember that your style should be unique to you. I see style as a way to express who you are to others without saying a word. Think about what you want to communicate to other people when you wear what you want. Style also can express your emotions and what you are feeling. Remember fashion is a form of art and you're the canvas.


Maybe you don't want to be noticed but still want to wear something that makes you feel good. Try neutral or soft pastel colors with less layering. If you feel a little adventurous or bold try adding bright or neon color accents. Try adding not so common textures that go along with your style for example textures such as tweed or spikes.


If your shy and trying to come out of your shell try wearing unique items. Such as a rainbow coat or bedazzled sunglasses. This definitely helps with people noticing and trying to strike up a conversation on what you are wearing. I have met so many people just by wearing something unique to an event.



Finding your personal style


If you're having troubles with finding your style try making a Pinterest board and title it "my style" and save any and every picture you find that you like or have some interest in. Once you have a good amount of photos write a list all the different styles that are on the board. See which styles show up the most and research and find different celebrities or movie characters that have a similar style. Its okay if you like more than one style. You can even mix them together! There is no rules on how many different styles you can like just have fun.



Your style your choice


The one thing you have to remember is this is your style which means you are in control. No one can tell you what you can and can not wear. If your style makes you feel happy then it does not matter what others think. I always tell myself that I do not want to waste my time dressing how people want me to dress. Looking back I wish I had start dressing how I wanted sooner. Trust me it's so much cooler to have a unique style that really fits you than just wearing what you think people want you to wear.


It's okay if your style changes over time that's very normal. As you grow and evolve in your life so will your style. Your personality and your style go hand in hand. Just go along and have fun trying new things you find that you enjoy.


Fashion really helps out with finding who you are. Finding your style will help you find your identity and become more comfortable and confident with yourself. It does take some time but once you find a style or an outfit that makes you feel your best it is such an amazing feeling.



I hope this helps,


- A B I



1,187 views
bottom of page